Print Header
www.ccsa.ca

Certification

What is certification?

Certification is a process by which an independent third party assesses and acknowledges an individual's level of knowledge and skill relative to a set of pre-determined standards. Unlike accreditation, which acknowledges compliance with standards at the program or organization level, certification concerns standards at the individual level.

Certification is typically accomplished by collecting and presenting information related to educational background, work-life experience and specific skill sets. Membership fees, ethics codes, continuing education and periodic reviews are also a common part of the certification process.

CCSA is in the process of developing a national certification on the Competencies for Canada’s Substance Abuse Workforce.

Why get certified?

Practitioners from a variety of disciplines and sectors provide services related to substance abuse prevention and treatment. Certification is one way to ensure they develop, incorporate and maintain the necessary skills to provide the highest quality services to their clients. In addition, certification:

  • Gives substance abuse and related professionals regular access to the latest developments in the field and targeted training opportunities;

  • Demonstrates expertise and serves to promote professionalism towards the public and peers; and

  • Can lead to increased compensation and expanded career opportunities.

How to get certified

Six Canadian organizations offer certification to substance abuse and allied professionals with the general aims of providing protection to their clientele and recognition for the practitioner.

Learn about accreditation for organizations.

Print Header
www.ccsa.ca

Certification

Qu’est-ce que la certification?

La certification est un processus par lequel une tierce partie indépendante évalue les connaissances et les compétences d'une personne et donne l'assurance qu'elles sont conformes à des normes préétablies. Contrairement à l'agrément, qui démontre qu'un programme ou une organisation répond à certaines normes, la certification, elle, porte sur les normes individuelles.

Le processus de certification s'effectue habituellement par la collecte et la présentation d'information sur la formation scolaire, l'expérience de travail et de vie, et des aptitudes précises. Les frais d'adhésion, les codes d'éthique, la formation continue et les examens périodiques font également partie du processus de certification.

Le CCLT est en train de mettre au point une certification nationale selon les Compétences pour les intervenants canadiens en toxicomanie.

Pourquoi obtenir la certification?

Des praticiens œuvrant dans un éventail de disciplines et de secteurs offrent des services liés à la prévention et au traitement de la toxicomanie. La certification est un moyen de s'assurer qu'ils développent, intègrent et conservent les compétences nécessaires pour continuer à fournir à leur clientèle des services de grande qualité. La certification a aussi les avantages suivants :

  • Elle permet aux professionnels en toxicomanie et de domaines connexes de se tenir au courant des derniers développements dans le domaine et des possibilités de formation ciblée.

  • Elle confirme l'expertise et favorise le professionnalisme auprès du public et des pairs.

  • Elle peut déboucher sur une rémunération accrue et des perspectives de carrière élargies.

Comment obtenir la certification

Six organismes canadiens certifient les professionnels en toxicomanie et de domaines connexes, généralement pour protéger le client et assurer la reconnaissance des compétences du praticien.

Apprenez-en davantage sur l’agrément des organisations.