Print Header
www.ccsa.ca

Accreditation

What is accreditation?

Accreditation is a process that evaluates whether an organization or program meets a set of quality standards in the provision of specific services. Unlike certification, which assesses individuals employed in a given field, accreditation evaluates standards at the organizational or program level.

The accreditation process is undertaken by an independent authoritative body and usually involves both self-assessment and peer review of the organization or program. The evaluation results in a work plan that is carried out to ensure that the organization or program is continually striving to meet established quality standards and best practices. Progress on the work plan is regularly reviewed.

Why get accredited?

In addition to ensuring that best practices are being implemented and thereby improving standards and services across the entire continuum of care, accreditation also:

  • Provides clients with the assurance that they are receiving the best-quality care;

  • Demonstrates accountability and professionalism; and

  • Highlights an organization’s commitment to excellence.

How to get accredited

In Canada, the following organizations provide voluntary accreditation specifically for substance abuse treatment programs at the national level:

The Employee Assistance Society of North America (EASNA) provides mentorship to organizations seeking to obtain accreditation for Employee Assistance Programs (EAP) through the COA.

In Quebec, the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux (MSSS, Quebec) has established a voluntary standards and certification framework for private or community organizations providing substance abuse treatment and lodging. Quebec also has legislation mandating all public institutions providing health and social services to be accredited by a recognized body — either Accreditation Canada or the Conseil québécois d’agrément (CQA) — every three years.

Learn about certification for individuals.

Print Header
www.ccsa.ca

Agrément

Qu’est-ce que l’agrément?

L'agrément est un processus par lequel on évalue si une organisation ou un programme répond à des normes de qualité touchant la prestation de services précis. Contrairement à la certification, qui permet d'évaluer les travailleurs d'un domaine particulier, l'agrément, lui, analyse les normes en vigueur à l'échelle de l'organisation ou du programme.

Le processus d’agrément est entrepris par un organisme indépendant autorisé et fait habituellement appel à une auto-évaluation et à un examen par les pairs de l'organisation ou du programme. Les résultats de l'évaluation permettent d'établir un plan de travail grâce auquel l'organisation ou le programme s'assure de répondre constamment à des normes de qualité établies et à des pratiques exemplaires. Les progrès faits par rapport au plan de travail sont régulièrement passés en revue.

Pourquoi obtenir l’agrément?

En plus de permettre la mise en œuvre de pratiques exemplaires, et donc l'amélioration des normes et des services dans tout le continuum des soins, l'agrément :

  • donne à la clientèle l'assurance qu'elle reçoit les meilleurs soins possible;

  • met en évidence l'imputabilité et le professionnalisme;

  • met en valeur l'engagement de l'organisation envers l'excellence.

Comment obtenir l’agrément

Au Canada, les organismes suivants se chargent spécifiquement de l'agrément volontaire des programmes de traitement des toxicomanies à l'échelle nationale :

L’Employee Assistance Society of North America (EASNA) offre des services de mentorat aux organisations qui souhaitent obtenir auprès du COA l'agrément de programmes d'aide aux employés.

Au Québec, le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux (MSSS) a établi un cadre normatif et d'agrément volontaire pour les organismes privés ou communautaires qui interviennent en toxicomanie et offrent de l'hébergement. Le Québec s’est également doté d’une loi obligeant toute institution publique à obtenir, tous les trois ans, l'agrément de ses services de santé et de ses services sociaux par un organisme reconnu, soit Agrément Canada ou le Conseil québécois d'agrément (CQA).

Apprenez-en davantage sur la certification des travailleurs.