Print Header
www.ccsa.ca

Care Pathways

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​CCSA has developed care pathways to guide treatment for prescription drug harms. These pathways help primary care providers offer better, more efficient support to those who might be experiencing prescription drug misuse, and can improve and ensure quality of care through the treatment system. They work hand-in-hand with Considerations for Developing and Implementing Care Pathways, a resource that overviews care pathway goals and factors for success. 

Available for youth and older adults, the pathways move from an awareness of harms to screening to evaluating a patient’s readiness to change, followe​d by assessment, treatment options, and relapse prevention and recovery. The pathways can be adapted to the context in which they are applied. CCSA would be pleased to support their adaptation and if you are interested in support, please contact us at systems@ccsa.ca​

CCSA will include treatment for other substances in subsequent pathways.​ ​

Who should use these pathways?​

So far, two pathways have been developed to outline the continuum of care for two distinct groups experiencing harms from psychoactive prescription drug use:​

In each pathway, colour is used to indicate research findings (blue) and expert opinion (yellow). The latter derive from those working in primary care, psychiatry, psychology and more, as well as from those with lived experience. Gaps in knowledge are also identified (pink). 

The pathways have been developed in two formats. The online version provides one continuous pathway for scrolling on a tablet or computer screen. The print version breaks the pathway into discrete stages so that it can be printed on regular paper. ​

Why develop a pathway for youth?​

Youth in Canada have higher rates of psychoactive prescription drug abuse than the general adult population. Young people are also more likely than adults to experience harm from the use of psychoactive prescription drugs, as their brains are undergoing rapid and extensive development. Such harms include dependence, addiction, illness requiring hospitalization, contraction of infectious disease, overdose and death. As well, earlier age of onset of substance use is associated with a range of negative outcomes, including increased risk of later drug dependence, poly-drug use and possible use of riskier drugs, all of which speaks to the need for effective treatment across a continuum of care for youth.​

Why develop a pathway for older adults?​

Older adults have higher rates of psychoactive prescription drug use (e.g., opioids, sedative-hypnotics) compared to the general population, which elevates their risk of experiencing related harms, including misuse, addiction, falls, cognitive impairment and medication interactions. There is an increasing need for evidence-based treatment for older adults to enhance the quality of care across the treatment continuum. ​

Print Header
www.ccsa.ca

Protocoles thérapeutiques

​Le CCLT a élaboré des protocoles thérapeutiques destinés à orienter le traitement des méfaits des médicaments sur ordonnance. Ces protocoles permettront aux fournisseurs de soins de santé primaires d’offrir un meilleur soutien en situation de mésusage de médicaments sur ordonnance et peuvent améliorer et assurer la qualité des soins tout au long du système de traitement. Ils fonctionnent en concomitance avec le document intitulé Considérations pour l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre des protocoles thérapeutiques, qui fait le survol des objectifs et facteurs de succès des protocoles thérapeutiques.

Offerts aux jeunes et aux personnes âgées, les protocoles passent de la sensibilisation aux méfaits à l’évaluation de l’ouverture du patient au changement, puis à l’évaluation des options de traitement, à la prévention de la rechute et au rétablissement. Ces protocoles peuvent être adaptés au contexte où ils sont appliqués. Le CCLT serait heureux d’appuyer leur adaptation et, si vous souhaitez obtenir un soutien, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous à l’adresse systems@ccsa.ca​

Le CCLT inclura le traitement pour d’autres substances aux protocoles ultérieurs.​

À qui s’adressent ces protocoles?​

Pour le moment, deux protocoles ont été élaborés pour tracer les grandes lignes du continuum de soins pour deux groupes distincts subissant les méfaits de la consommation de psychotropes sur ordonnance :

Dans chaque protocole, les couleurs servent à indiquer les résultats de recherche (bleu) et les opinions expertes (jaune), ces dernières provenant des travailleurs des soins primaires, en psychiatrie et en psychologie, entre autres, ainsi que de personnes ayant une expérience vécue. Les lacunes en matière de connaissances sont aussi recensées (rose).

Les protocoles ont été élaborés dans deux formats. La version en ligne permet de faire défiler le protocole de façon continue sur une tablette ou à l’écran d’un ordinateur. La version imprimée divise le protocole en étapes distinctes pour pouvoir l’imprimer sur du papier d’imprimante. ​

Pourquoi un protocole pour les jeunes?​

Les jeunes Canadiens ont des taux d’abus de psychotropes sur ordonnance plus élevés que ceux de la population générale. Les jeunes sont aussi plus susceptibles que les adultes de subir des méfaits de la consommation de psychotropes sur ordonnance, car leurs cerveaux vivent un développement rapide et intensif. Ces méfaits comprennent la dépendance, la toxicomanie, les maladies nécessitant une hospitalisation, la contraction de maladies infectieuses, les surdoses et le décès. De plus, la consommation précoce de substances est associée à une gamme de conséquences néfastes, y compris un risque accru de dépendance ultérieure, de polyconsommation et de consommation de drogues plus dangereuses, ce qui souligne le besoin de traitements plus efficaces dans l’ensemble du continuum de soins des jeunes.​

Pourquoi un protocole pour les personnes âgées?​

Il a été déterminé que les personnes âgées ont des taux de consommation de psychotropes sur ordonnance (p. ex. opioïdes, stimulants-hypnotiques) plus élevés que ceux de la population générale, ce qui accroît leur risque de subir les méfaits connexes, y compris le mésusage, la toxicomanie, les chutes, les troubles cognitifs et les interactions médicamenteuses. Il existe un besoin grandissant d’options de traitement fondées sur des données probantes pour les personnes âgées tout au long du continuum de soins.​ ​