Print Header
www.ccsa.ca

CCSA and Vienna NGO Committee on Drugs

​​​The Vienna NGO Committee on Drugs (VNGOC) supports the work of the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC), provides information on the activities of non-governmental organizations (NGOs) and involves a wide sector of civil society to raise awareness of global drug policies.

The VNGOC is a vital link between NGOs, government departments and international agencies involved in drug policy, strategy and control, including UNODC, the Commission on Narcotic Drugs (CND) and the International Narcotics Control Board (INCB).

​Beyond 2008

CCSA’s former CEO, Michel Perron led in organizing Beyond 2008, an international forum that brought together NGOs from around the world and led to the acceptance of three resolutions to uphold the value and contributions of NGOs to drug policy.

Learn about CCSA’s leadership role in Beyond 2008.

The UNODC deemed Beyond 2008 a “success story” and championed its continuation by introducing a second phase, Looking Beyond: Towards a Stronger Partnership with Civil Society Organizations on Drugs and Crime. The UNODC has also extended this model of partnership engagement to other areas of its mandate.​

VNGOC and global drug policy

Building upon the success of the Beyond 2008 forum, the VNGOC now hosts an informal Civil Society Hearing, often during the annual session of the CND. This hearing typically focuses on strengthening relationships and commitments between civil society and government bodies.​​

The VNGOC also participates in the United Nations International Day Against Drug Abuse.

Print Header
www.ccsa.ca

Le CCLT et le Comité de Vienne des ONG sur les drogues

​​​​​​​​Le Comité de Vienne des ONG sur les drogues (VNGOC) appuie le travail de l’Office des Nations Unies contre la drogue et le crime (ONUDC), fournit de l’information concernant les activités des organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) et incite un grand segment de la société civile à participer aux efforts de sensibilisation sur les politiques internationales en matière de drogues.

Le VNGOC est un chaînon vital entre les ONG, les ministères et les organismes internationaux s'intéressant à la politique, à la stratégie et au contrôle des drogues. L’ONUDC, la Commission des stupéfiants et l’Organe international de contrôle des stupéfiants (OICS) sont quelques-uns de ces organismes.

​Au-delà de 2008

L’ancien premier dirigeant du CCLT, Michel Perron​ a piloté l’organisation du forum international Au-delà de 2008. Le forum a rassemblé des ONG du monde entier et a permis de retenir trois résolutions faisant valoir l’importance et la contribution des ONG dans l’élaboration des politiques en matière de drogues.

Découvrez le rôle de premier plan du CCLT dans Au-delà de 2008.

L’ONUDC considère que le forum Au-delà de 2008 a été une réussite et a favorisé la continuation de ces efforts en entamant une seconde phase, Regarder au-delà : vers un partenariat renforcé avec les organisations de la société civile œuvrant contre la drogue et le crime. L’ONUDC a également étendu son modèle d’engagement de partenaires à d’autres secteurs de son mandat.

Le VNGOC et les politiques internationales en matière de drogues

S’appuyant sur les réalisations du forum Au-delà de 2008, le VNGOC tient maintenant une audience informelle de la société civile présidée, souvent durant la session annuelle de la Commission des stupéfiants. Cette audience a pour but de renforcer les liens et les engagements entre la société civile et les organismes du gouvernement.​

 

Le VNGOC participe aussi à la Journée internationale contre l’abus de drogues organisée par l'Organisation des Nations Unies.