Print Header
www.ccsa.ca

Addressing Prescription Drug Misuse

​​​​​​​The harms associated with prescription drugs, such as opioids, stimulants, sedatives and tranquillizers, are a public health and safety concern that has reached crisis proportions in Canada. These harms are borne by individuals, families and communities, as well as by healthcare, social service and public safety systems. The issue has been identified as a priority for action by many organizations over the past decade.

National Dialogue on Prescription Drug Misuse

Progress in addressing prescription drug misuse was limited until the Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse (CCSA) and its partners combined forces, with CCSA convening a National Dialogue on Prescription Drug Misuse in Ottawa early in 2012. At that meeting, CCSA rallied partners to renew their commitment to addressing this important national health and safety issue. CCSA also accepted the request to take the lead in developing and implementing a national strategy.

National Advisory Council on Prescription Drug Misuse

CCSA partnered with the Alberta Coalition on Prescription Drug Misuse and the Nova Scotia Department of Health and Wellness to form a National Advisory Council on Prescription Drug Misuse (NAC), consisting of more than 30 diverse organizations with a clear stake in the issue. NAC includes representatives of healthcare practitioners (physicians, nurses, dentists, pharmacists, medical examiners and coroners), regulators, patients and families, First Nations, law enforcement, the pharmaceutical industry, researchers and governments.

Collective action to implement the First Do No Harm strategy

NAC launched First Do No Harm: Responding to Canada's Prescription Drug Crisis on March 27, 2013. This 10-year pan-Canadian strategy lays out 58 recommendations to address the devastating harms associated with prescription drugs, and to help improve the health and safety of Canadian communities across the country.​

​The First Do No Harm strategy is in its implementation phase. CCSA has established implementation teams and is supporting their efforts across the country to carry out the recommendations. More than 50 individuals and organizations — all with a commitment to collective action to reduce the harms associated with prescription drugs — have begun in earnest to address recommendations across five streams of action:

  • Prevention

  • Education

  • Treatment

  • Monitoring

  • Surveillance and enforcement

Additional recommendations are associated with legislation and regulation, research and evaluation.

 

Share and align the work you are doing with the First Do No Harm strategy.

Email pharma@ccsa.ca

 

​Related Topics

Print Header
www.ccsa.ca

Contrer le mésusage des médicaments sur ordonnance

​​​​​​​Les méfaits associés aux médicaments sur ordonnance comme les opioïdes, les stimulants, les sédatifs et les tranquillisants constituent une préoccupation de santé et de sécurité publiques au Canada – une préoccupation qui a atteint un point critique. Ces méfaits sont subis par les particuliers, les familles et les communautés, ainsi que les soins de santé, les services sociaux et la santé publique. Au cours de la dernière décennie, cet enjeu a été retenu comme un champ d'action prioritaire par de nombreuses organisations.

Dialogue national sur le mauvais usage de médicaments sur ordonnance

Les progrès dans la lutte contre le mésusage de médicaments sur ordonnance étaient restreints avant que le Centre canadien de lutte contre les toxicomanies (CCLT) et ses partenaires n'unissent leurs forces. Le CCLT a notamment initié le Dialogue national sur le mauvais usage de médicaments sur ordonnance à Ottawa en début 2012. Lors de cette réunion, le CCLT a appelé les partenaires à renouveler leur engagement à traiter cet important problème de santé et de sécurité au Canada. Le CCLT a également accepté de prendre la tête du processus d'élaboration et de mise en œuvre d'une stratégie nationale.

Conseil consultatif national sur l'abus de médicaments sur ordonnance

En partenariat avec l'Alberta Coalition on Prescription Drug Misuse et le ministère de la Santé et du Mieux-être de la Nouvelle-Écosse, le CCLT a créé le Conseil consultatif national sur l'abus de médicaments sur ordonnance. Parmi ses membres, plus de 30 organismes différents clairement intéressés par ce problème, représentant notamment les professionnels de la santé (médecins, infirmiers, pharmaciens, médecins légistes et coroners), les chargés de la réglementation, les patients, les familles, les membres des Premières Nations, la police, l'industrie pharmaceutique, les chercheurs et les autorités gouvernementales.

L'intervention collective pour mettre en œuvre la stratégie S'abstenir de faire du mal

Le Conseil consultatif national (CCN) a lancé S'abstenir de faire du mal : Répondre à la crise liée aux médicaments d'ordonnance au Canada le 27 mars 2013. Cette stratégie pancanadienne décennale formule 58 recommandations pour contrer les méfaits dévastateurs associés aux médicaments sur ordonnance ainsi que pour améliorer la santé et la sécurité des collectivités des quatre coins du pays.

​La stratégie est à l'étape de mise en œuvre. Le CCLT a mis sur pied des équipes de mise en œuvre et appuie leurs efforts de mise en application des recommandations dans l'ensemble du pays. Plus de 50 intervenants et organismes avec un engagement commun à l'intervention collective pour réduire les méfaits liés aux médicaments sur ordonnance ont commencé à se pencher activement sur des recommandations autour de cinq volets d'action :

  • Prévention

  • Éducation

  • Traitement

  • Surveillance

  • Suivi et application de la loi

D'autres recommandations portent sur les lois et règlements, la recherche et l'évaluation.

 

Partagez vos travaux actuels et alignez-les sur la stratégie S'abstenir de faire du mal.

Écrivez à
pharma@ccsa.ca